How Apple’s iOS Fragmentation Problems Distort Design Thinking

TechCrunch

Editor’s note:Kevin Marks is VP of Open Cloud Standards at Salesforce.com, and a host and co-founder of TummelVision.tv. Over the last 20 years he’s moved between giant companies and founding startups – BBC, The UK MultiMedia Corporation, Apple QuickTime, Technorati, Google, BT. He is one of the driving forces behind microformats.org, activitystrea.ms and portablecontacts.net. Follow him on Twitter @kevinmarks.

As someone who uses both Android and iOS regularly, I’m getting increasingly frustrated by fragmentation. However it’s not on my Android devices I see this, but rather on the iOS ones.

I install a popular, well-funded application like Instagram, Flickr or Circa on my iPad, but when I launch it, three-fourths of the screen is black bars, with a teensy little app in the middle. Or I can choose to scale it up without smoothing, so jagged pixels I haven’t seen since the 1990s reinforce the…

View original post 1,076 more words

Leave a Reply

